Events / 14th Annual Postdoc Scientific Symposium

14th Annual Postdoc Scientific Symposium

11:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Eric P. Newman Education Center (EPNEC) - Auditorium
Add to: Google Calendar

The Postdoc Symposium Committee is pleased to announce the keynote speaker for the 14th Annual Postdoc Scientific Symposium:

Elizabeth L. Travis, Ph.D.

Dr. Travis is the Associate Vice President for Women & Minority Faculty Inclusion Programs and the Mattie Allen Fair Professor in Cancer Research at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. As an advocate for women in science, she served as President of Women Executives in Science and Healthcare (Formerly Society of Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine, SELAM) from 2012-2013 and received the Women in Medicine and Science Leadership Development Award (for an individual) from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) in 2009. In 2007 she was named a Fellow of the American Society for Therapeutic Radiation Oncology (FASTRO); fewer than 300 distinguished scientists nationwide have received this honor. She holds dual appointments as a Professor in the Department of Experimental Radiation Oncology and the Department of Pulmonary Medicine at MD Anderson. Dr. Travis received a Ph.D. in Experimental Pathology/Radiation Biology from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, South Carolina. She completed postdoctoral training at Mount Vernon Hospital Gray Laboratory, Northwood, Middlesex as well as the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University in Chicago, Illinois.

Save the Date!

March 22, 2018
11 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Eric P. Newman Education Center (EPNEC)
320 S. Euclid Ave.
School of Medicine Campus

Abstracts for short talks and poster presentations will be accepted from November 27, 2017 to December 22, 2017. All WU postdocs in STEM fields are encouraged to submit. Instructions for submitting an abstract are available on the postdoc website at

The Postdoc Symposium is sponsored by the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, the WashU Postdoc Society, and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research.