Internal Selections Review Committee

Responsible for the review, selection, and recommendation of internal candidates for limited submission programs.

All review committees are convened by the Vice Chancellor for Research. Below you will find a list of the points of contact or appointed committees responsible for recommending selecting internal candidates for limited submission programs to the Vice Chancellor for Research. Questions about the committees or review schedules may be directed to Catherine Determan, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research.

Review Schedules​

The current list of all committees and points of contact convened by the VCR for internal selections, and the review schedules, may be requested by emailing Catherine Determan (​). As new programs are announced, changed, or eliminated by sponsors, this schedule will be updated. Please be sure to check for the latest version of this timetable. A list of all OPEN Federal Limited Competitions is available here. A list of all OPEN Private Limited Competitions is available here​. (Login in with WUSTL Key to view federal and private competitions.)

Review Committees

New Investigator Awards

  • Christina Stallings (Arnold & Mabel Beckman Young Investigator Award 2013; Department of Molecular  Microbiology), Co-Chair
  • Gary Patti (Sloan 2014; Dreyfus 2015; Mallinckrodt Scholar Award 2016; Pew Scholar 2015; Agilent Early Career Professor Award 2017; Department of Chemistry), Co-Chair
  • Luis Batista (Mallinckrodt New Investigator Award 2015, V Scholar Award 2015l Department of Medicine, Hematology)
  • Yehuda Ben-Shahar (Klingenstein-Simons Fellowship; Department of Biology)
  • Helen McNeill (Department of Developmental Biology)
  • Dan Moran (Department of Biomedical Engineering)
  • Amit Pathak (Mallinckrodt New Investigator Award 2014; Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science)
  • Andrew Yoo (Mallinckrodt New Investigator and Mallinckrodt Scholar; Department of Developmental Biology)
  • Hani Zaher (Searle Scholar; Department of Biology)

**Ad hoc committee members from additional disciplinary areas may be added, as appropriate.

Instrumentation Committee

  • In process of updates

The VCR partners with the following groups to assist with the adjudication process, as needed:

Siteman Cancer Center Review Committee
Chaired by the SIP Chairs

ICTS Funding Program Committee
Co-Directors: Bradley A. Evanoff, MD, MPH & Christina A. Gurnett, MD, PhD

B​radley A. Evanoff, MD, MPH
Assistant Dean for Clinical and Translational Research
Director, Division of General Medical Sciences
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine

Christina A. Gurnett, MD, PhD
Department of Neurology
Division of Pediatric Neurology

Institute for Public Health 
Chair, William G. Powderly, MD
Director, Institute for Public Health
J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine
Co-Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases

Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences
Chair, Robyn Klein, MD, PhD
Vice Provost, Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases